The Science of Star Trek vs the Magic of Star Wars - the 10 Year Flame War!

Gatefan1976

Well Known GateFan
Scotty was never funny?
Computer? Computer?
A keyboard, How Quaint.

I know This ship like the back of my hand!
DONG!!

McCoy tossing one liners?
Dammit Jim, I'm a doctor not a (insert whatever here)

goku plain saiyan.gif

JUST SAIYAN

Overmind One

GateFans Gatemaster
Staff member
Scotty was never funny?
Computer? Computer?
A keyboard, How Quaint.

I know This ship like the back of my hand!
DONG!!

McCoy tossing one liners?
Dammit Jim, I'm a doctor not a (insert whatever here)

View attachment 32380

JUST SAIYAN

Ugh...must you? :) Scotty in NuTrek is a comedic character. Scotty in TOS was funny and had a great sense of humor but he was not comedic relief. Did you really grab at lines of dialogue without considering the persona and accomplishments of Master Engineer Montgomery Scott? In NuTrek, Checkov has shown more technological ingenuity than Scotty has. Transwarp beaming does not count because Spock Prime gave him the formula.

Gatefan1976

Well Known GateFan
Ugh...must you? :)
Seems I must as you keep digging a deeper hole.
Scotty in NuTrek is a comedic character. Scotty in TOS was funny and had a great sense of humor but he was not comedic relief.
I am pointing out that Scotty was used as a comedic foil sometimes, nothing else.
I am pointing out that your -opinion- means as much as anyone elses. I don't give a TOSS if you watched TOS a few years before me, there are X amount of TV/movie hours of Trek, and just like you, I have watched nearly all of them (the cartoon never got here, sorry boss). You do not have some mystical understanding beyond mine that makes your understanding "more true", neither do I.
What you are stating is -opinion-, and so am I.
Did you really grab at lines of dialogue without considering the persona and accomplishments of Master Engineer Montgomery Scott?
He's a fracking CHARACTER, jeezus man :lol: