The Quitting Smoking Thread - Recovering and Recovered

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Overmind One, Mar 11, 2014.

1. Overmind One

Overmind One GateFans Gatemaster Staff Member

I admit it. I have a problem, and it is SMOKING. Im really not a heavy smoker, about 1/2 pack per day (10 cigarettes or less). I smoke American Spirit blue pack:

americanspirit.jpg

• I have been smoking since March 1980 when I joined the USMC. I was 20 years old.
    • I have been a smoker for 34 years, mostly hovering around 5-10 cigs a day.
    • I picked up the habit in the service because all of the coolest soldiers I admired who outranked me smoked.
    • The first time I met Leonard Nimoy at my first Trek event, he was smoking a cigarette.
    • The first time I met William Shatner, he was smoking a cigarette.
    • Both Nimoy and Shatner have quit and I still smoke.
    • One pack of American Spirit costs as much as two gallons of gas.
    I could go on and on about the reasons to quit, and I could whine about how I tried to quit using the patch (which I did) and Nicorette and even electronic cigarettes. These methods are insidious because they never allow your body to fall below the threshold where physical withdrawal kicks in. The only thing that seems to work with a high frequency is COLD TURKEY.

Why tonight?

Because I just smoked my last cigarette two hours ago and I want another one and it is 2:15 in the morning and Im not going anywhere. My ashtrays are empty, I have no "emergency cigarette" anywhere, and I cant find my electronic cigarette.

Grrrrr.

I did find the same things with regard to what to expect when quitting cold turkey:

http://whyquit.com/joel/Joel_03_02_cold_turkey.html

What is my prognosis? Pretty damned good, actually.
    • I have beat other addictions.
    • I have lots of patience with plants, pets, children, and problems. I can apply that patience here.
    • I actually WANT to quit.