Question for all you Computer Graphics Experts.

G

Graybrew1

I have been asked to find out about speed painting? Anybody know what this is?
It is related to Computer Graphics.

Overmind One

GateFans Gatemaster
Staff member
N

Never heard of it....but Im a networks expert, not a graphics expert! :)

G

Graybrew1

I am hoping that he graphics experts like OMNI might chime in, she would greatly appreciate that.

OMNI

My avatar speaks for itself.
this link to wiki which GF76 posted says pretty much all there is.. and the vide shows the process..

its basicly just fast digital painting using softwares such as Photoshop, i do something similar on my still imagery nowdays but i compose a bunch of dif 3D renders together then paint in additional detail

This is called composition/Paintover

Example:

the breakdown of this image is basicly this,

6 base renders of the ironman mesh, lighting, spec, color, Ambient occlusion etc.
1 back ground free source image (carbombing)
and then several adjustment layers such as motion blur filmgrain etc i also paint on stuff like scratches and dirt i also enhance shadows and generally tinker around till i get something that looks pleasing...

Just so you kan clearly see how much i actually painted on this one:

View attachment 5947

(image is a comp of all base render passes before details were painted)

personally i can draw freehand on paper pretty good and i was a magician with a spraycan back in the day but to start from scratch in Photoshop is just to much of a hassle since if i shoot a 3D render i can make it any angle i like and not worry about drawing stuff like accurate lighting etc etc.

Both speed painting and paintovers are used alot in CG production piplines to serve as "Concept art" and "Matte paintings"