People are Getting Smarter...Content is Getting Dumber

Atlantis

Well Known GateFan

I thought this was an interesting ted talk, I found that music genres can be subjective but when it comes to individual kinds of tracks then I believe that subjective taste should not be taken into account.

Overmind One

GateFans Gatemaster
Staff member

I thought this was an interesting ted talk, I found that music genres can be subjective but when it comes to individual kinds of tracks then I believe that subjective taste should not be taken into account.

Being a pianist myself, I can admire the skill of someone able to play certain pieces of music fluently, based upon known skill to do so and training to do so correctly. That is probably why have zero respect for autotune, loops and rap. I might like a few things using those elements, but I do not respect it as being real music in the sense of requiring training and compositional knowledge to perform.

Lord Ba'al

Well Known GateFan
I must have missed the part where he talked about people getting smarter.

Overmind One

GateFans Gatemaster
Staff member
I must have missed the part where he talked about people getting smarter.

I really sort of disagree with him thinking people are getting smarter. I think people are getting dumber and the content is getting dumber as well to stay within reach of them. Like what we see in Idiocracy.

I really sort of disagree with him thinking people are getting smarter. I think people are getting dumber and the content is getting dumber as well to stay within reach of them. Like what we see in Idiocracy.