Can I have some WINE? Using Windows apps in Linux Mint is an option.

Overmind One

GateFans Gatemaster
Staff member
I absolutely LOVE Linux. I have been using it basically as my primary OS for many years now. I have always made sure I had Windows available in a VM (using KVM, VMware or VirtualBox). I have also always been forced to have a way to boot into Windows natively when gaming because WINE just will not run a lot of them (but it will run many). In my case, there is a graphics program that I am in love with and Linux simply has nothing comparable to it: Macromedia Fireworks 8. Fireworks 8 may be the easiest advanced graphics editor ever made. It has all the bells and whistles of Photoshop, with the easiest user interface. It explains why Adobe bought Fireworks and then basically killed it.

Macromedia-Fireworks_8.png
So, following along with me in Linux has always been WINE. Wine is a "compatibility layer" within Linux which allows Windows applications to run in a sandbox without Windows being installed. For programs, this is usually all that is needed. Games and advanced music and video editing software struggle under WINE. But Fireworks and most Office products (except Outlook) run great under Wine. WINE is NOT an emulator, which means it cannot do lots of Windows stuff. If you need full Windows functionality, then it is best to install Windows in a VM. Here is Fireworks running in my Linux Mint 17.0.2, under the vanilla WINE installed from the repository. Install WINE, then run your executable like you would any Windows program. Again, it is not going to run everything.

Workspace 1_001.png

There is really no reason to stick with Windows. With so many cloud-based apps online, you no longer need much of the software needed in a PC. What you do need should not cost you an arm and a leg, or require a subscription beyond what you pay for internet. :)

Last edited:

Jim of WVa

Well Known GateFan